Is it possible to migrate two different databases from version 7 to a version 8 database.
Yes. It is possible to migrate two version 7 databases into one version 8 database, the following steps must be followed.
1. This base must be a completely new database in version 8, otherwise it can lead to problems with permissions.
2. If both version 7 databases have the same AD profiles, they must have different names, otherwise there will be a problem with the second migration.
3. When the first migration is done, a migration user is created. This must NOT be deleted for the time being.
4. when the second migration is performed, select Merge user, and perform the migration.
5. Now log on to the version 8 database with the migration user. Both databases should already be merged here.
6. In the Roles module you have two roles with the name Administrators. We recommend you to change the second administrator role from Administrators to Administrators2.
7. Now add the members from Administrators2 to the Administrators role and confirm with Save.
8. The next step is to change the permissions on the records. To do this, open the Passwords module and filter for the Administrators2 role. Now select all records by CTRL+A and go to the permissions. Remove the Administrators2 role and add the Administrators role. Confirm with Save.
9. Once you have made sure that setting the permissions was successful, you can delete the Administrators2 role.
10. The same principle can occur with the forms.
Please note: If custom form fields have been added to the forms, it is not possible to change them via "Change Form"!
11. The next step is to unify the organizational structure. For this you need the "Organizational Structure" module.
12. The AD users/groups/roles from the second migration must now be changed to the profile from the first migration.
13. Now the second AD profile can be deleted.
Please note: (Steps 12 and 13 need to be performed only if it is the same AD profile).
14. If all steps are done successfully, you have to authorize the administrator to the migration user.
15. Also, the administrator needs the right to delete users permanently.
16. Now you can log in with the administrator and delete the migration user. After it has been deleted, it still needs to be deleted permanently.
To do this, go to the "Organizational Structure" module and press CTRL+F12. Now select the migration user and click on "Delete permanently".